Last November, I picked up the Sephora Favorites Lashstash Mascara Wardrobe. I LOVE when these kits come out. I bought a similar eyeliner set two years ago and still have liners from that kit. As an avid lover of trying new mascaras, but of a product junkie in that sense, I was so excited to pick this kit up.

It was an amazing deal at $45. The set includes two full sized mascaras and eight sample sized mascaras.  While a lot of people don’t like the idea of paying for minis, I love it because it gives me the chance to try a new mascara without the three month commitment, plus it has saved me money. This set has lasted me 6 months so far with two mascara mini’s still unopened. In that time, I would have spent at least $50 on mascaras. So an estimated 9 months worth of mascaras for $45 is a great deal to me. But how well did all the mascaras preform?

2302393

First up is the Smashbox Photo Finish Lash Primer. It is a while eyelash primer that claims to “lift lashes to new heights, amp up volume, and make mascara last longer.” Now, I don’t know it I had a bad tube, but when I cracked it open it was a thick, gloopy, mess. I couldn’t get it on my lashes evenly to even attempt to pair it with a mascara, so this is a definite pass for me.

2301423

Next is the tarte tarteist Lash Paint Mascara. This mascara claims to lengthen lashes for 2700% more volume. I love the brush on this mascara, it is a huge rubber bristle brush, that grabs every single lash and adds tremendous volume. The only issue that I have with this mascara is that it clumps VERY easily if you’re not careful. I usually have to follow up with a lash comb after using this mascara.

080315-im-obsessed-nars-mascara-embed

Now, I REALLY wanted to love the NARS Audacious Mascara. It claims to be a “buildable, all-in-one mascara with an exclusive, lash-catching brush that separates, lengthens, and amplifies.” It looks absolutely gorgeous on the lashes. It provides volume, length, and separation for lashes that are dramatic enough for a night out, yet perfectly wearable in the daytime. But this mascara flakes like no other. I have never had a mascara flake on me, but before I could even leave the house, I had tiny black flakes under my eyes. If this mascara had worn better, it definitely would have been a new favorite.

10552547-1382087024-388747

Here we have a cult favorite, benefit they’re real! Lengthening Mascara. This is one of my favorite mascaras. It gives you that false lash look without the hassle. I don’t think I’ve come across anyone who hasn’t liked this mascara. If you like length with separation and a natural lush volume, I’d give this mascara a try.

closeup_7bdb2e06b8ca7a3d6180d4bf600a09e321900680_1493211544_18859_TooFaced_WEB

Right now, The Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara is tied for my absolute favorite mascara right now. It has managed to find the perfect balance between length and volume for me. It can be difficult to remove at times, but with a good makeup remover, it comes off without too much fuss. The brush is also pretty big, so if you’re not a fan of large and in charge wands, this may not be for you.

Generate

Next on the list is the YSL Baby Doll Mascara. This is the mascara I’m currently using and I like it, but it’s not my favorite. It gives the lashes a fluttery soft look that is super pretty and very daytime appropriate, I just personally like a bit more volume to my lashes. Paired with a more volumizing mascara, it’s served me well.

7649dbd78bacdfdfe31c769c02a83d44

This mascara was a huge surprise for me. The Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara was a step down for the volume and intensity I’m used to, but it made my lashes look great. This is a true all in one mascara, that provides volume, length, and lift. I 100% recommend this mascara.

604214922600_perversion

The Urban Decay Perversion Mascara claims to provide length and volume, and it does just that. This is another one of those mascaras with a large wand that can get a bit clumpy if you’re not careful. I personally love to layer this on top of the YSL Baby Doll Mascara so I get the perfect balance of length, separation and volume aka amazing lash days.

327-81004877-REHX_BLACK_M

The Estee Edit’s The Edgiest Up & Out Double Mascara was a bit of a disappointment for me. At first, I followed the directions on the Sephora website that said to use the volume side, then the lift side to add separation and definition, but that just left me with a clumpy mess. When used in the reverse order, though, gave me AMAZING results. Unfortunately, this is the most difficult to remove mascara I have ever used in my life. Anytime I wore it, I was afraid I’d be losing a few lashes in the removal process.

2299127

Lastly, we have the Buxom Lash Mascara. This mascara claims to give you clump free volume, but that wasn’t the case for me. While it did not clump at all, it also did not give me much volume. I got a ton of separation and length, but not much else. If you like a very natural, soft look, I think this would work really well for you.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my reviews of these mascaras and I could help point you in the right direction for your mascara needs! Comment below with your favorite mascara or if you’ve tried any of the ones I’ve mentioned!

XO,

Eunique

Leave a Reply

